What do Muslims believe?

Islam is a monotheistic religion founded in the 7th century in the Arabian Peninsula. Its followers, Muslims, believe in the oneness of God (Allah) and the prophethood of Muhammad as the last and final prophet. The central text of Islam is the Quran, believed by Muslims to be the word of God as revealed to Muhammad.

The Six Articles of Faith in Islam are:

  1. Belief in one God (Allah)
  2. Belief in angels
  3. Belief in the prophets of God, including Adam, Abraham, Moses, Jesus, and Muhammad
  4. Belief in the Holy Book, the Quran
  5. Belief in the Day of Judgment and the resurrection of the dead
  6. Belief in the predestination of all things by God

Islam also has Five Pillars, which are the five obligations that every Muslim must fulfill:

  1. The declaration of faith (Shahada)
  2. Praying five times daily (Salah)
  3. Giving to charity (Zakat)
  4. Fasting during the month of Ramadan (Sawm)
  5. Making a pilgrimage to Mecca (Hajj) at least once in a lifetime if physically and financially able.

Additionally, Muslims follow the moral code of conduct outlined in the Quran and the Hadith (sayings and actions of the Prophet Muhammad). This includes the avoidance of sinful behavior such as lying, stealing, and engaging in illicit sexual activity, as well as performing good deeds such as helping those in need and showing kindness to others.

It’s important to note that the interpretations and practices of Islam can vary among different sects and cultures.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *